Oneida Osprey Questions

...advertisement
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Oneida Osprey Questions

Oneida Osprey Questions

I'm a NEWB as my kids would say to lever bows. I bought my Opsrey off ebay last summer, its a Long 30-50#. I love shooting the bow and have killed allot of fish with it.

I have used the videos on Vimeo that Oneida put out Along with Rambo's ( Dustin Apple ) videos on youtube. My brace height is 6-7/8 and my draw weight is 33#'s not sure of the draw length, i believe the F modules are what it comes with.

So I'm not happy with my arrow flight, I had a Quick draw mounted last year and was not able to get my arrows to fly straight. So this season I bought a Gargod riser rest and mounted it flush with the riser.

I forget where my knock is from the bottom of the shelf rest, I think I started 5/16 up and moved it according to my arrow flight.

It might be better this year but I'm still watching my arrows not enter the water straight and plane off in every direction. So I have a couple questions for you lever guys......

How do you set up your nock height ?

What weight is optimum for the fiberglass arrows ? I shoot a variety of points from Muzzy carp points to a couple new grapple points and some cheap bulk points I got from Carp Cartel.

What draw weight do you guys shoot with your Ospreys ??

I have a Chronograph, is there a speed that you guys prefer ? or help with arrow stability ?? I have never shot my Osprey through it.... Maybe I should.

How important is FORM ? Grip and follow through ?? Any tips ? I just ordered a set of grips from Mark McAllister off Face Book, for my big mitts.

If my brace height, timing ( tiller ) limbs are aligned with properly set up rest what else should I look at ?

I just ordered 5 practice arrows from Bowfishing Extreme and am determined to tune my bow so I can shoot at deep fish.

You guys are great and my only source of higher end bow fishing answers. The local Scheels guys try hard but really aren't lever bow guys.